Etsi sivustolta


0 tuote(tta) - 0,00 €
Ostoskorisi on tyhjä.
Etsi sivustolta

Sun Shines On Hank Williams - Sun Artists Sing The Songs Of.

Tuplaklikkaa kuvaa nähdäksesi sen kokonaan

Katso lähemmin

Lisää kuvia

Genre50's Rockabilly / R'n'R,Country 40s-70s / Bluegrass


Tuotenumero 43933
Kuntokansi Ei
Kuntolevy Ei
Aluekoodi Ei
Formaatti CD
Levy-yhtiö Bear Family
Vuosi 2019
Kesto Ei
Valmistusmaa Saksa

Sun Shines On Hank Williams - Sun Artists Sing The Songs Of. (CD)


1-CD with 28-page booklet, 28 tracks. Total playing time approx. 58 minutes.

       Questions about 'Hank Williams On Sun'

      Q: Why should I buy this SUN Records compilation?
      A: This is a one of a kind theme compilation featuring Rockabilly & Country legends like Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis, Carl Mann, Eddie Bond, Warren Smith, Sonny Burgess    and many more.

      Q: Are there any rarities on this CD?
      A: Yes, you'll find unbelievable eight never before releasesd original SUN recordings plus rarely heard versions of Hank Williams' all time smash hits, all recorded in Memphis between 1957 and 1963.

      Q: Why are there still unreleased recording from the golden Memphis era?
      A:Producer Sam Phillips always used his tapes at SUN Records more often, so it's possible you'll work on a Johnny Cash or Roy Orbison mastertape and find an unreleased Jerry Lee Lewis track at the end, or sometimes even between takes!

      Q: Is there any Elvis Presley connection on this CD?
      A: Yes, although no track by Elvis has been found found yet, there is an unreleased alternate track of 'Your Cheatin' Heart' by Cliff Gleaves, an early member of the Memphis Mafia. A rare picture of Elvis and Cliff is featured in the booklet.
Also included is a nice picture of Rockabilly Girl Barbara Pittman, which she claimed was shot by Elvis Presley during there days at the famous Memphis label.

      Q: How is the sound quality of the recordings on this CD?
      A: Bear Family uses original tapes or the best available sources for mastering and though some of the tracks were released on vinyl and cd before, the music lover will now  get the best quality on these outstanding recordings.

    A total of eight previously unreleased masters!

    Sun Records recording artists sing the songs of the great Hank Williams.
    A total of 26 country recordings from the years 1957 to 1963.
    Next to famous artists like Johnny Cash and Jerry Lee Lewis we present lesser known recordings by Sonny Burgess, Warren Smith or Carl Mann.
    Well-known titles combined with several unreleased alternate versions and demos!
    Carefully remastered for best possible sound, with extensive liner notes by Hank Davis.

Hank Williams died too soon to know about Sun Records existence, but the folks at Sun surely knew about him. This CD collects for the first time the response to Hank Williams by Sun recording artists and producers.

We present already issued records by major artists (Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis) as well as lesser known Sun lights (Sonny Burgess, Warren Smith, Carl Mann) along with originally unissued alternate takes, undubbed recordings and demos. It's quite a range: male and female, black and white, they all took on Hank Williams. Sixteen different artists singing 16 different songs. Twenty-six tracks in all. The contrast is amazing.

You'll also hear some candid moments of Sam Phillips working as a producer in the studio. And there's a memorable bit of egotistical comedy as Jerry Lee Lewis, in discussion with Phillips, takes credit for writing a Hank Williams song.

A unique collection showing the impact of Williams on Sun Records in the ten years following the singer's death in 1953.

Saatavuus: Varastossa

18,00 €


01     Hey Good Looking (prev unissued)     Ernie Barton     
02     Cold Cold Heart     Jerry Lee Lewis     
03     My Bucket's Got A Hole In It (prev unissued alt take)     Sonny Burgess     
04     I Could Never Be Ashamed Of You (undubbed alt take)     Johnny Cash     
05     Your Cheating Heart (prev unissued alt take)     Cliff Gleaves     
06     Long Gone Lonesome Blues     Jerry Lee Lewis     
07     Cold Cold Heart     Barbara Pittman     
08     I Can't Help It (prev unissued)     Jeb Stuart     
09     You Win Again (originally unissued)     Johnny Cash     
10     Dear John     Warren Smith     
11     Your Cheating Heart (prev unissued demo)     Annette McGee     
12     Jambalaya     Jerry Lee Lewis     
13     Half As Much (prev unissued demo)     Hank Davis     
14     Hey Good Looking (previously unissued)     Eddie Cash     
15     You Win Again (prev unissued)     David Wilkins     
16     You Can't Help It (25) [take 4]     Jerry Lee Lewis     
17     I Heard That Lonesome Whistle Blow     Johnny Cash     
18     My Bucket's Got A Hole In It (Sun 285)     Sonny Burgess     
19     Your Cheatin' Heart     Jeannie Greene (Mary Johnson)     
20     You Win Again     Jerry Lee Lewis     
21     There'll Be No Teardrops Tonight (prev unissued)     Carl McVoy     
22     I Can't Help It (If I'm Still In Love With You)     Johnny Cash     
23     Take These Chains From My Heart     Carl Mann     
24     Setting The Woods On Fire (orig unissued)     Jerry Lee Lewis     
25     I Saw The Light     Eddie Bond     
26     Hey Good Lookin'     Johnny Cash