Etsi sivustolta


0 tuote(tta) - 0,00 €
Ostoskorisi on tyhjä.
Etsi sivustolta

That'll Flat Git It! Vol.31 - Rockabilly & Rock 'n' Roll From The Vaults Of Colonial Records

Tuplaklikkaa kuvaa nähdäksesi sen kokonaan

Katso lähemmin

Lisää kuvia

Genre50's Rockabilly / R'n'R




Tuotenumero 40865
Kuntokansi Ei
Kuntolevy Ei
Aluekoodi Ei
Formaatti CD
Levy-yhtiö Bear Family
Vuosi 2018
Kesto Ei
Valmistusmaa Saksa

That'll Flat Git It! Vol.31 - Rockabilly & Rock 'n' Roll From The Vaults Of Colonial Records (CD)


First time ever compilation of masters from the influential Colonial Records label from Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

A long unjustly underestimated record company that deserves more attention.

• Including the first recordings by George Hamilton IV, John D. Loudermilk and Billy ‘Crash’ Craddock as well as many more artists from the Carolinas. 

This CD compilation contains more than ten previously unreleased tracks!

• Booklet with never before seen photos and information on the Colonial label.

Carefully restored and re-mastered recordings.

DeLuxe packaging with extensive liner notes and in-detail discographical information. 

Colonial Records was established in 1951 by Orville Campbell in the city of Chapel Hill, adjacent to the University of North Carolina. From this collegiate environment and beyond Campbell pulled talent to record and release an eclectic mix of pop, bluegrass, comedy and good old rock ’n’ roll for his small but prolific record label. The Colonial label existed until 1965 scoring several minor hits, spawning the musical careers of several  soon-to-be famous musical artists and providing entertainment for a teen aged audience in the Carolinas and beyond.

As it corresponds to the concept of Bear Family’s ‘That’ll Flat Git It!’ series, only the rockin’est sides from the Colonial catalog were chosen for this release. And these sides can compete with the best in the genre! 

Featured herein is the original version of 'Sittin’ In The Balcony' by its author and originator, John D. Loudermilk (here as Johnny Dee.) Please, listen to the original version of the song alongside the later hit version of Eddie Cochran. Could you really tell us which version is the original and which version is the copy? Then there is Wake Up (Little Boy Blue) by the mysterious Franklin Brothers, a recording that is so rare that until recently it was considered non-existent and never appeared in any discography.. 

These are the stories record collectors dream of! Many more previously uncomped artists are on board here for the first time, such as E.C. Beatty, The Bluenotes, Henry Wil-on, The Goldtones and many more. Sixty years after the original recording dates, Bear Family makes it possible for these artists to receive the attention they have always been entitled to.

As most of the original master tapes are lost forever, the majority of masters have been taken from the original rare and hard to find Colonial single (45s) releases and have been carefully restored and re-mastered to meet the quality standards of Bear Family.. 

This is a truly worthy and long awaited project which will find favor among fans of rockabilly music, 1950s music aficionados, and folks into North Carolina culture and his-tory, and just plain music fans in general. 

 This is one Bear Family release that you don’t want to miss!

Saatavuus: Varastossa

18,00 €




1: If You Don't Know George Hamilton IV
2: Tarzan EC Beatty
3: Birddoggin' Bill Craddock & The Blue Notes
4: Sittin' In The Balcony Johnny Dee
5: Wake Up (Little Boy Blue) The Franklin Brothers
6: Runaway Lover Grady Lewis
7: Little Blue Eyes EC Beatty
8: Mighty Low The Blue Notes feat Doug Franklin
9: Somebody Sweet Johnny Dee
10: Winter Wonderland Allan & The Flames
11: Are You Ready Henry Wilson & The Blue Notes
12: Mountain Dew Rock Hoke Simpson with Ken, Ralph, Roy & Jerry
13: Ski King EC Beatty
14: Asiatic Flu Ebe Sneezer & The Epidemics
15: So Real The Franklin Brothers
16: High Dive Into Love The Goldtones
17: The Battle Joe Tanner
18: Ugh! Ugh! Ugh! EC Beatty
19: A-Plus In Love Johnny Dee
20: You're A Tiger The Bluenotes
21: I've Got News Doug Harrell
22: My Little Girl The Franklin Brothers
23: It's Gotta Be You Johnny Dee
24: I've Got A Secret George Hamilton IV
25: Let Her Go Daddieo EC Beatty
26: The Oriental Shake The Goldtones
27: That's All I've Got Ebe Sneezer & The Epidemics
28: Day Dreaming The Franklin Brothers
29: I'm A Lucky Man EC Beatty
30: The New Midnight Special Doug Franklin
31: Mighty Low Henry Wilson & The Blue Notes
32: This Great Society EC Beatty
33: Slow Myself Away EC Beatty  
34: Ole Joe EC Beatty